Franchise brand comparison
Burn Boot Camp vs BFT
Compared on figures each brand discloses in its own Franchise Disclosure Document — 2025 for Burn Boot Camp, 2025 for BFT. Investment, fees, and Item 19 gross sales, with the sample size behind every average.
Short answer
Two group-training concepts, and the disclosed numbers are lopsided. Burn Boot Camp reports $680,997 average gross sales across 278 outlets on a $463,622 midpoint build — 1.47x capital efficiency, with a lighter 6% royalty plus 2% brand fund and the category's most transparent disclosure, including net operating income. BFT reports $360,918 across just 29 US studios on an $856,941 midpoint — 0.42x, the weakest ratio we have measured, with the heavier Xponential stack of 7% plus 2% plus a $1,500 monthly local floor. BFT's defense is that its US system is young while its Australian base is large and mature; the buyer is betting on that curve. Burn's numbers describe a working machine today; BFT's describe a promising one that hasn't ramped in this market yet. On evidence, Burn — on conviction about the strength-training wave and open territory, BFT.
Side by side
| Measure | Burn Boot Camp | BFT |
|---|---|---|
| Concept category | Fitness & movement | Fitness & movement |
| FDD year | 2025 | 2025 |
| Total investment (Item 7) | $281,899–$645,344midpoint $463,622 | $509,836–$1,204,045midpoint $856,941 |
| Initial franchise fee | $60,000 | $60,000 |
| Royalty | 6% | 7% |
| Brand fund | 2% (may rise to 3%) | 2% |
| Local advertising | None disclosed separately | greater of $1,500/mo or 2% |
| Average gross sales (Item 19) | $680,997278 units — franchised outlets open the entire 2024 calendar year; also discloses net operating income | $360,91829 units — US studios franchisee-owned the entire 2024 calendar year; the brand's Australian base is far larger |
| Median gross sales | $638,290 | $329,200 |
| Top quartile | Not disclosed | $558,591 |
| Bottom quartile | Not disclosed | $212,714 |
| Revenue ÷ investment | 1.47x | 0.42x |
| Quartile spread | — | 2.6x |
Bolded figures mark the stronger side of a row where both brands disclose a comparable number — lower investment, higher revenue, higher return on capital, narrower quartile spread. A brand that discloses nothing is never marked as losing a row: an undisclosed figure is an unknown, not a poor result.
What the numbers mean
Investment is Item 7, the franchisor's own estimate of everything needed to open. Burn Boot Camp discloses a total initial investment of $281,899 to $645,344 in its 2025 FDD, a midpoint of $463,622, with an initial franchise fee of $60,000. BFT discloses a total initial investment of $509,836 to $1,204,045 in its 2025 FDD, a midpoint of $856,941, with an initial franchise fee of $60,000.
Revenue is Item 19, and the unit count matters as much as the figure. Burn Boot Camp reports average gross sales of $680,997 and a median of $638,290 across 278 units (franchised outlets open the entire 2024 calendar year; also discloses net operating income). BFT reports average gross sales of $360,918 and a median of $329,200 across 29 units (US studios franchisee-owned the entire 2024 calendar year; the brand's Australian base is far larger).
Return on capital divides disclosed average sales by the midpoint investment. Burn Boot Camp returns 1.47x and BFT returns 0.42x. This measures capital efficiency, not profit — it says how much annual revenue each dollar of build-out buys, and says nothing about the margin either concept actually runs.
Full review
Burn Boot Camp
Cost, fees, and Item 19 revenue, reviewed against the 2025 FDD.
Full review
BFT
Cost, fees, and Item 19 revenue, reviewed against the 2025 FDD.
Frequently asked
- Burn Boot Camp vs BFT: which is the better franchise?
- Two group-training concepts, and the disclosed numbers are lopsided. Burn Boot Camp reports $680,997 average gross sales across 278 outlets on a $463,622 midpoint build — 1.47x capital efficiency, with a lighter 6% royalty plus 2% brand fund and the category's most transparent disclosure, including net operating income. BFT reports $360,918 across just 29 US studios on an $856,941 midpoint — 0.42x, the weakest ratio we have measured, with the heavier Xponential stack of 7% plus 2% plus a $1,500 monthly local floor. BFT's defense is that its US system is young while its Australian base is large and mature; the buyer is betting on that curve. Burn's numbers describe a working machine today; BFT's describe a promising one that hasn't ramped in this market yet. On evidence, Burn — on conviction about the strength-training wave and open territory, BFT.
- How much does a Burn Boot Camp franchise cost compared to BFT?
- Burn Boot Camp discloses a total initial investment of $281,899 to $645,344 in its 2025 FDD, a midpoint of $463,622, with an initial franchise fee of $60,000. BFT discloses a total initial investment of $509,836 to $1,204,045 in its 2025 FDD, a midpoint of $856,941, with an initial franchise fee of $60,000.
- Does Burn Boot Camp or BFT generate more revenue?
- Burn Boot Camp reports average gross sales of $680,997 and a median of $638,290 across 278 units (franchised outlets open the entire 2024 calendar year; also discloses net operating income). BFT reports average gross sales of $360,918 and a median of $329,200 across 29 units (US studios franchisee-owned the entire 2024 calendar year; the brand's Australian base is far larger). These are gross sales, not profit, and the number of units behind each average decides how much it tells you.
- What are the ongoing fees for Burn Boot Camp and BFT?
- Burn Boot Camp charges a royalty of 6% and a brand fund contribution of 2% (may rise to 3%). BFT charges a royalty of 7% and a brand fund contribution of 2%, plus a local advertising obligation of greater of $1,500/mo or 2%.
Other comparisons
Before you rely on any of this
FDDs are filed annually and figures move. Request the current document from each franchisor and read Items 5, 6, 7 and 19 yourself — this is a summary to orient you, not a substitute for the disclosure or for your own advisors. We are not affiliated with, endorsed by, or compensated by either brand; see our disclosure policy.
Compare every brand at once in the sortable cost comparison table, or run these figures against your own assumptions in the ROI & payback calculator.