Most "best wellness franchise" lists rank brands without showing the numbers the ranking supposedly rests on. This guide does the opposite: it puts 32 of the most-searched wellness franchise brands side by side on the figures they are legally required to disclose in their Franchise Disclosure Documents, and leaves the ranking to you.
Everything below comes from each brand's FDD. Because brands file a new FDD annually, the year is noted for every figure — a number from a 2023 filing is not comparable to one from 2026 without accounting for the gap.
We are not affiliated with, endorsed by, or compensated by any brand on this page. See our disclosure policy.
Want to sort these figures yourself rather than read them in a fixed order? The wellness franchise cost comparison table carries the same data, sortable by investment, revenue, capital efficiency, or quartile spread, and filterable by category.
The comparison at a glance
| Brand | FDD year | Total investment (Item 7) | Franchise fee | Royalty | Brand fund |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Stretch Zone | 2025 | $138,745–$320,099 | $59,500 | 7% (min $900/mo) | 2% |
| The Joint Chiropractic | 2025 | $245,250–$543,000 | $39,900 | 7% (min $700/mo) | up to 3% |
| The Covery | 2025 | $259,500–$382,500 | $42,500 | 7% | 2% |
| StretchLab | 2025 | $269,019–$610,224 | $65,000 | 8% | 2% |
| Burn Boot Camp | 2025 | $281,899–$645,344 | $60,000 | 6% | 2% (may rise to 3%) |
| SWEAT440 | 2025 | $287,900–$685,900 | $60,000 | 7% | $420/mo flat |
| HOTWORX | 2026 | $288,890–$1,083,310 | $19,950 | $695/mo flat | no % fund — flat monthly fees; see review |
| Pure Barre | 2025 | $314,411–$629,345 | $60,000 | 7% | 2% |
| European Wax Center | 2025 | $327,600–$836,950 | $45,000 ($36,000 existing) | 6% | 3% |
| Row House | 2023 | $328,000–$491,000 | $60,000 | 7% | 2% |
| F45 Training | 2025 | $349,200–$786,100 | $60,000 | 7% (min $2,500/mo) | 2% (min $200/mo) |
| Club Pilates | 2025 | $385,048–$839,058 | $65,000 | 8% | 2% |
| Drybar | 2025 | $409,979–$1,029,249 | $50,000 | 7% | 2% |
| CycleBar | 2025 | $410,809–$1,110,193 | $60,000 | 7% | 2% |
| Amazing Lash Studio | 2025 | $464,464–$719,754 | $50,000 | 6% | 2% |
| iCRYO | 2023 | $474,500–$1,205,000 | $49,500 | 6% | 1% |
| D1 Training | 2025 | $480,557–$933,432 | $59,500 | 7% (min $1,950–$2,950/mo by year) | greater of $250/mo or 2% |
| Rumble Boxing | 2025 | $509,640–$1,141,016 | $60,000 | 7% | 2% |
| BFT | 2025 | $509,836–$1,204,045 | $60,000 | 7% | 2% |
| YogaSix | 2025 | $529,233–$826,265 | $60,000 | 7% | 2% |
| Anytime Fitness | 2026 | $539,329–$905,482 | $42,500 | $842/mo flat | $900/mo flat |
| Perspire Sauna Studio | 2025 | $565,538–$989,638 | $50,000 | 7% (min $600/mo) | 2% |
| Elements Massage | 2026 | $567,239–$1,097,853 | $40,000 | 6% | 2% |
| Hand & Stone | 2025 | $578,507–$871,602 | $32,500–$49,500 | 5% yr 1, then 6% | 1% |
| SWTHZ | 2026 | $631,798–$1,314,102 | $45,000 | 6–8% by studio age | 3% |
| Massage Envy | 2025 | $719,350–$1,081,000 | $45,000 | 6% | 2% + 2% |
| Restore Hyper Wellness | 2025 | $777,174–$1,323,425 | $44,500 | 7% | 2% |
| Orangetheory Fitness | 2025 | $821,622–$1,377,160 | $59,950 | 8% | 3% |
| Pause Studio | 2025 | $880,600–$1,534,900 | $60,000 | 7% | 1% |
| Crunch Fitness | 2025 | $928,000–$3,743,000 | $35,000 | 5% | 2% |
| Woodhouse Spa | 2025 | $1,482,439–$2,697,879 | $60,000 | 6% | up to 2% (currently 1.75%) |
| Planet Fitness | 2025 | $1,525,000–$5,221,500 | $20,000 | 7% of membership fees | 2% of membership fees (max 3%) |
Stretch Zone
- FDD year
- 2025
- Total investment (Item 7)
- $138,745–$320,099
- Franchise fee
- $59,500
- Royalty
- 7% (min $900/mo)
- Brand fund
- 2%
The Joint Chiropractic
- FDD year
- 2025
- Total investment (Item 7)
- $245,250–$543,000
- Franchise fee
- $39,900
- Royalty
- 7% (min $700/mo)
- Brand fund
- up to 3%
The Covery
- FDD year
- 2025
- Total investment (Item 7)
- $259,500–$382,500
- Franchise fee
- $42,500
- Royalty
- 7%
- Brand fund
- 2%
StretchLab
- FDD year
- 2025
- Total investment (Item 7)
- $269,019–$610,224
- Franchise fee
- $65,000
- Royalty
- 8%
- Brand fund
- 2%
Burn Boot Camp
- FDD year
- 2025
- Total investment (Item 7)
- $281,899–$645,344
- Franchise fee
- $60,000
- Royalty
- 6%
- Brand fund
- 2% (may rise to 3%)
SWEAT440
- FDD year
- 2025
- Total investment (Item 7)
- $287,900–$685,900
- Franchise fee
- $60,000
- Royalty
- 7%
- Brand fund
- $420/mo flat
HOTWORX
- FDD year
- 2026
- Total investment (Item 7)
- $288,890–$1,083,310
- Franchise fee
- $19,950
- Royalty
- $695/mo flat
- Brand fund
- no % fund — flat monthly fees; see review
Pure Barre
- FDD year
- 2025
- Total investment (Item 7)
- $314,411–$629,345
- Franchise fee
- $60,000
- Royalty
- 7%
- Brand fund
- 2%
European Wax Center
- FDD year
- 2025
- Total investment (Item 7)
- $327,600–$836,950
- Franchise fee
- $45,000 ($36,000 existing)
- Royalty
- 6%
- Brand fund
- 3%
Row House
- FDD year
- 2023
- Total investment (Item 7)
- $328,000–$491,000
- Franchise fee
- $60,000
- Royalty
- 7%
- Brand fund
- 2%
F45 Training
- FDD year
- 2025
- Total investment (Item 7)
- $349,200–$786,100
- Franchise fee
- $60,000
- Royalty
- 7% (min $2,500/mo)
- Brand fund
- 2% (min $200/mo)
Club Pilates
- FDD year
- 2025
- Total investment (Item 7)
- $385,048–$839,058
- Franchise fee
- $65,000
- Royalty
- 8%
- Brand fund
- 2%
Drybar
- FDD year
- 2025
- Total investment (Item 7)
- $409,979–$1,029,249
- Franchise fee
- $50,000
- Royalty
- 7%
- Brand fund
- 2%
CycleBar
- FDD year
- 2025
- Total investment (Item 7)
- $410,809–$1,110,193
- Franchise fee
- $60,000
- Royalty
- 7%
- Brand fund
- 2%
Amazing Lash Studio
- FDD year
- 2025
- Total investment (Item 7)
- $464,464–$719,754
- Franchise fee
- $50,000
- Royalty
- 6%
- Brand fund
- 2%
iCRYO
- FDD year
- 2023
- Total investment (Item 7)
- $474,500–$1,205,000
- Franchise fee
- $49,500
- Royalty
- 6%
- Brand fund
- 1%
D1 Training
- FDD year
- 2025
- Total investment (Item 7)
- $480,557–$933,432
- Franchise fee
- $59,500
- Royalty
- 7% (min $1,950–$2,950/mo by year)
- Brand fund
- greater of $250/mo or 2%
Rumble Boxing
- FDD year
- 2025
- Total investment (Item 7)
- $509,640–$1,141,016
- Franchise fee
- $60,000
- Royalty
- 7%
- Brand fund
- 2%
BFT
- FDD year
- 2025
- Total investment (Item 7)
- $509,836–$1,204,045
- Franchise fee
- $60,000
- Royalty
- 7%
- Brand fund
- 2%
YogaSix
- FDD year
- 2025
- Total investment (Item 7)
- $529,233–$826,265
- Franchise fee
- $60,000
- Royalty
- 7%
- Brand fund
- 2%
Anytime Fitness
- FDD year
- 2026
- Total investment (Item 7)
- $539,329–$905,482
- Franchise fee
- $42,500
- Royalty
- $842/mo flat
- Brand fund
- $900/mo flat
Perspire Sauna Studio
- FDD year
- 2025
- Total investment (Item 7)
- $565,538–$989,638
- Franchise fee
- $50,000
- Royalty
- 7% (min $600/mo)
- Brand fund
- 2%
Elements Massage
- FDD year
- 2026
- Total investment (Item 7)
- $567,239–$1,097,853
- Franchise fee
- $40,000
- Royalty
- 6%
- Brand fund
- 2%
Hand & Stone
- FDD year
- 2025
- Total investment (Item 7)
- $578,507–$871,602
- Franchise fee
- $32,500–$49,500
- Royalty
- 5% yr 1, then 6%
- Brand fund
- 1%
SWTHZ
- FDD year
- 2026
- Total investment (Item 7)
- $631,798–$1,314,102
- Franchise fee
- $45,000
- Royalty
- 6–8% by studio age
- Brand fund
- 3%
Massage Envy
- FDD year
- 2025
- Total investment (Item 7)
- $719,350–$1,081,000
- Franchise fee
- $45,000
- Royalty
- 6%
- Brand fund
- 2% + 2%
Restore Hyper Wellness
- FDD year
- 2025
- Total investment (Item 7)
- $777,174–$1,323,425
- Franchise fee
- $44,500
- Royalty
- 7%
- Brand fund
- 2%
Orangetheory Fitness
- FDD year
- 2025
- Total investment (Item 7)
- $821,622–$1,377,160
- Franchise fee
- $59,950
- Royalty
- 8%
- Brand fund
- 3%
Pause Studio
- FDD year
- 2025
- Total investment (Item 7)
- $880,600–$1,534,900
- Franchise fee
- $60,000
- Royalty
- 7%
- Brand fund
- 1%
Crunch Fitness
- FDD year
- 2025
- Total investment (Item 7)
- $928,000–$3,743,000
- Franchise fee
- $35,000
- Royalty
- 5%
- Brand fund
- 2%
Woodhouse Spa
- FDD year
- 2025
- Total investment (Item 7)
- $1,482,439–$2,697,879
- Franchise fee
- $60,000
- Royalty
- 6%
- Brand fund
- up to 2% (currently 1.75%)
Planet Fitness
- FDD year
- 2025
- Total investment (Item 7)
- $1,525,000–$5,221,500
- Franchise fee
- $20,000
- Royalty
- 7% of membership fees
- Brand fund
- 2% of membership fees (max 3%)
Two things stand out immediately. First, the franchise fee is nearly irrelevant to the decision — it ranges from about $20,000 to $65,000 across all 32, a spread of roughly $45,000 against total investments that differ by more than five million dollars. Chasing a lower franchise fee is optimizing the smallest line item on the page.
Second, the brand with the highest franchise fee (StretchLab, $65,000) has by far the lowest total investment. Fee size tells you nothing about total capital required.
What the brands disclose about revenue
Item 19 is where a franchisor may disclose actual unit performance. 23 of these 32 give a usable figure.
| Brand | Average gross sales | Median | Sample |
|---|---|---|---|
| Crunch Fitness | $2,765,220 | — | 303 units — franchised clubs open the full 2024 fiscal year; Item 19 reports thirds, not quartiles |
| Woodhouse Spa | $2,506,231 | $2,457,840 | 76 units — locations open the full 2024 calendar year; disclosed range $675,466–$5,666,512 |
| Planet Fitness | $1,873,895 | — | 2,197 units — franchised clubs open all of CY2024; EFT membership revenue only, reported in thirds, not quartiles |
| Hand & Stone | $1,390,276 | $1,311,889 | 502 units — franchised spas open 12+ months, CY2024 |
| Massage Envy | $1,137,964 | $1,070,589 | 187 units — current-format locations open 12+ months, FY2024 |
| Club Pilates | $984,270 | $969,022 | 849 units — studios open the full 2024 calendar year |
| Elements Massage | $981,430 | $897,288 | 234 units — studios open at 1/1/2025 that operated throughout 2025; Item 19 reports thirds, not quartiles |
| Restore Hyper Wellness | $911,516 | $850,994 | 198 units — franchised studios open 12+ months, FY2024 |
| Orangetheory Fitness | $857,377 | $807,976 | 1,256 units — franchised studios operating the entirety of 2024 |
| Burn Boot Camp | $680,997 | $638,290 | 278 units — franchised outlets open the entire 2024 calendar year; also discloses net operating income |
| D1 Training | $679,601 | $626,384 | 31 units — substantially similar franchised facilities open 1+ year through 2024; also discloses revenue less disclosed expenses ($275,965 average) |
| Amazing Lash Studio | $574,361 | $545,132 | 192 units — studios open at 1/1/2024 that operated throughout 2024; Item 19 reports thirds, not quartiles |
| SWTHZ | $573,762 | $556,226 | 13 units — franchised locations open all of FY2024 |
| The Joint Chiropractic | $569,571 | $527,787 | 785 units — franchised clinics reporting every month of FY2024 |
| StretchLab | $556,263 | — | 417 units — qualified studios, FY2024 |
| Perspire Sauna Studio | $506,200 | $490,518 | 44 units — franchised studios, FY2024 |
| YogaSix | $488,615 | $468,417 | 162 units — studios franchisee-owned the entire 2024 calendar year, excluding non-traditional sites |
| F45 Training | $454,320 | $407,220 | 699 units — franchised studios open 12+ months as of February 28, 2025; Item 19 reports thirds, not quartiles |
| Anytime Fitness | $446,814 | — | 1,683 units — franchised centers open the entire 12 months ended 2/28/2026; no median or quartiles disclosed |
| CycleBar | $424,125 | $406,514 | 183 units — studios franchisee-owned and operated the entire 2024 calendar year |
| Pure Barre | $368,588 | $344,889 | 599 units — qualified studios, full-year 2024 |
| BFT | $360,918 | $329,200 | 29 units — US studios franchisee-owned the entire 2024 calendar year; the brand's Australian base is far larger |
| Stretch Zone | $328,042 | $307,794 | 293 units — franchised units open 12+ months at 12/31/2024; 37 of 330 excluded for reporting non-compliance |
| Drybar | Not disclosed | — | basis not verified — see review |
| European Wax Center | Not disclosed | — | basis not verified — see review |
| HOTWORX | Not disclosed | — | Item 19 reports gross profit, not gross sales — see review |
| iCRYO | Not disclosed | — | no comparable figure in the 2023 FDD reviewed |
| Pause Studio | Not disclosed | — | Item 19 covers five company-owned LA studios only — see review |
| Row House | Not disclosed | — | no verified figure in the filings we reviewed — see review |
| Rumble Boxing | Not disclosed | — | circulating figures conflict — see review |
| SWEAT440 | Not disclosed | — | basis not verified — see review |
| The Covery | Not disclosed | — | no Item 19 financial performance representation disclosed |
Crunch Fitness
- Average gross sales
- $2,765,220
- Median
- —
- Sample
- 303 units — franchised clubs open the full 2024 fiscal year; Item 19 reports thirds, not quartiles
Woodhouse Spa
- Average gross sales
- $2,506,231
- Median
- $2,457,840
- Sample
- 76 units — locations open the full 2024 calendar year; disclosed range $675,466–$5,666,512
Planet Fitness
- Average gross sales
- $1,873,895
- Median
- —
- Sample
- 2,197 units — franchised clubs open all of CY2024; EFT membership revenue only, reported in thirds, not quartiles
Hand & Stone
- Average gross sales
- $1,390,276
- Median
- $1,311,889
- Sample
- 502 units — franchised spas open 12+ months, CY2024
Massage Envy
- Average gross sales
- $1,137,964
- Median
- $1,070,589
- Sample
- 187 units — current-format locations open 12+ months, FY2024
Club Pilates
- Average gross sales
- $984,270
- Median
- $969,022
- Sample
- 849 units — studios open the full 2024 calendar year
Elements Massage
- Average gross sales
- $981,430
- Median
- $897,288
- Sample
- 234 units — studios open at 1/1/2025 that operated throughout 2025; Item 19 reports thirds, not quartiles
Restore Hyper Wellness
- Average gross sales
- $911,516
- Median
- $850,994
- Sample
- 198 units — franchised studios open 12+ months, FY2024
Orangetheory Fitness
- Average gross sales
- $857,377
- Median
- $807,976
- Sample
- 1,256 units — franchised studios operating the entirety of 2024
Burn Boot Camp
- Average gross sales
- $680,997
- Median
- $638,290
- Sample
- 278 units — franchised outlets open the entire 2024 calendar year; also discloses net operating income
D1 Training
- Average gross sales
- $679,601
- Median
- $626,384
- Sample
- 31 units — substantially similar franchised facilities open 1+ year through 2024; also discloses revenue less disclosed expenses ($275,965 average)
Amazing Lash Studio
- Average gross sales
- $574,361
- Median
- $545,132
- Sample
- 192 units — studios open at 1/1/2024 that operated throughout 2024; Item 19 reports thirds, not quartiles
SWTHZ
- Average gross sales
- $573,762
- Median
- $556,226
- Sample
- 13 units — franchised locations open all of FY2024
The Joint Chiropractic
- Average gross sales
- $569,571
- Median
- $527,787
- Sample
- 785 units — franchised clinics reporting every month of FY2024
StretchLab
- Average gross sales
- $556,263
- Median
- —
- Sample
- 417 units — qualified studios, FY2024
Perspire Sauna Studio
- Average gross sales
- $506,200
- Median
- $490,518
- Sample
- 44 units — franchised studios, FY2024
YogaSix
- Average gross sales
- $488,615
- Median
- $468,417
- Sample
- 162 units — studios franchisee-owned the entire 2024 calendar year, excluding non-traditional sites
F45 Training
- Average gross sales
- $454,320
- Median
- $407,220
- Sample
- 699 units — franchised studios open 12+ months as of February 28, 2025; Item 19 reports thirds, not quartiles
Anytime Fitness
- Average gross sales
- $446,814
- Median
- —
- Sample
- 1,683 units — franchised centers open the entire 12 months ended 2/28/2026; no median or quartiles disclosed
CycleBar
- Average gross sales
- $424,125
- Median
- $406,514
- Sample
- 183 units — studios franchisee-owned and operated the entire 2024 calendar year
Pure Barre
- Average gross sales
- $368,588
- Median
- $344,889
- Sample
- 599 units — qualified studios, full-year 2024
BFT
- Average gross sales
- $360,918
- Median
- $329,200
- Sample
- 29 units — US studios franchisee-owned the entire 2024 calendar year; the brand's Australian base is far larger
Stretch Zone
- Average gross sales
- $328,042
- Median
- $307,794
- Sample
- 293 units — franchised units open 12+ months at 12/31/2024; 37 of 330 excluded for reporting non-compliance
Drybar
- Average gross sales
- Not disclosed
- Median
- —
- Sample
- basis not verified — see review
European Wax Center
- Average gross sales
- Not disclosed
- Median
- —
- Sample
- basis not verified — see review
HOTWORX
- Average gross sales
- Not disclosed
- Median
- —
- Sample
- Item 19 reports gross profit, not gross sales — see review
iCRYO
- Average gross sales
- Not disclosed
- Median
- —
- Sample
- no comparable figure in the 2023 FDD reviewed
Pause Studio
- Average gross sales
- Not disclosed
- Median
- —
- Sample
- Item 19 covers five company-owned LA studios only — see review
Row House
- Average gross sales
- Not disclosed
- Median
- —
- Sample
- no verified figure in the filings we reviewed — see review
Rumble Boxing
- Average gross sales
- Not disclosed
- Median
- —
- Sample
- circulating figures conflict — see review
SWEAT440
- Average gross sales
- Not disclosed
- Median
- —
- Sample
- basis not verified — see review
The Covery
- Average gross sales
- Not disclosed
- Median
- —
- Sample
- no Item 19 financial performance representation disclosed
A note on Hand & Stone: the figure above is franchised spas only. Its 15 corporate spas average $2,288,647 and pull the combined average to $1,416,341 — always check whether a brand is quoting you franchised or combined performance.
Sample size matters as much as the number. Anytime Fitness reports across 1,683 centers, Orangetheory across 1,256, and Club Pilates across 849 — large enough that a few outliers cannot move them. SWTHZ's $573,762 comes from just 13 locations, which is a genuinely small sample; a couple of strong or weak units move that average significantly. Treat it as directional, not settled.
Massage Envy adds a disclosure the others omit: only 42.2% of its locations met or exceeded the $1,137,964 average. That is a useful reminder for every row in this table — averages in a skewed distribution describe a minority of owners.
The ratio that actually matters
A revenue figure means little without the capital required to produce it. Dividing disclosed revenue by the midpoint of each brand's Item 7 range gives a rough revenue-to-investment ratio — a crude but revealing measure of capital efficiency.
| Brand | Disclosed average | Investment midpoint | Revenue ÷ investment |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hand & Stone | $1,390,276 | $725,055 | 1.92x |
| Club Pilates | $984,270 | $612,053 | 1.61x |
| Burn Boot Camp | $680,997 | $463,622 | 1.47x |
| The Joint Chiropractic | $569,571 | $394,125 | 1.45x |
| Stretch Zone | $328,042 | $229,422 | 1.43x |
| StretchLab | $556,263 | $439,622 | 1.27x |
| Massage Envy | $1,137,964 | $900,175 | 1.26x |
| Woodhouse Spa | $2,506,231 | $2,090,159 | 1.20x |
| Crunch Fitness | $2,765,220 | $2,335,500 | 1.18x |
| Elements Massage | $981,430 | $832,546 | 1.18x |
| Amazing Lash Studio | $574,361 | $592,109 | 0.97x |
| D1 Training | $679,601 | $706,995 | 0.96x |
| Restore Hyper Wellness | $911,516 | $1,050,300 | 0.87x |
| F45 Training | $454,320 | $567,650 | 0.80x |
| Pure Barre | $368,588 | $471,878 | 0.78x |
| Orangetheory Fitness | $857,377 | $1,099,391 | 0.78x |
| YogaSix | $488,615 | $677,749 | 0.72x |
| Perspire Sauna Studio | $506,200 | $777,588 | 0.65x |
| Anytime Fitness | $446,814 | $722,406 | 0.62x |
| SWTHZ | $573,762 | $972,950 | 0.59x |
| CycleBar | $424,125 | $760,501 | 0.56x |
| Planet Fitness | $1,873,895 | $3,373,250 | 0.56x |
| BFT | $360,918 | $856,941 | 0.42x |
Hand & Stone
- Disclosed average
- $1,390,276
- Investment midpoint
- $725,055
- Revenue ÷ investment
- 1.92x
Club Pilates
- Disclosed average
- $984,270
- Investment midpoint
- $612,053
- Revenue ÷ investment
- 1.61x
Burn Boot Camp
- Disclosed average
- $680,997
- Investment midpoint
- $463,622
- Revenue ÷ investment
- 1.47x
The Joint Chiropractic
- Disclosed average
- $569,571
- Investment midpoint
- $394,125
- Revenue ÷ investment
- 1.45x
Stretch Zone
- Disclosed average
- $328,042
- Investment midpoint
- $229,422
- Revenue ÷ investment
- 1.43x
StretchLab
- Disclosed average
- $556,263
- Investment midpoint
- $439,622
- Revenue ÷ investment
- 1.27x
Massage Envy
- Disclosed average
- $1,137,964
- Investment midpoint
- $900,175
- Revenue ÷ investment
- 1.26x
Woodhouse Spa
- Disclosed average
- $2,506,231
- Investment midpoint
- $2,090,159
- Revenue ÷ investment
- 1.20x
Crunch Fitness
- Disclosed average
- $2,765,220
- Investment midpoint
- $2,335,500
- Revenue ÷ investment
- 1.18x
Elements Massage
- Disclosed average
- $981,430
- Investment midpoint
- $832,546
- Revenue ÷ investment
- 1.18x
Amazing Lash Studio
- Disclosed average
- $574,361
- Investment midpoint
- $592,109
- Revenue ÷ investment
- 0.97x
D1 Training
- Disclosed average
- $679,601
- Investment midpoint
- $706,995
- Revenue ÷ investment
- 0.96x
Restore Hyper Wellness
- Disclosed average
- $911,516
- Investment midpoint
- $1,050,300
- Revenue ÷ investment
- 0.87x
F45 Training
- Disclosed average
- $454,320
- Investment midpoint
- $567,650
- Revenue ÷ investment
- 0.80x
Pure Barre
- Disclosed average
- $368,588
- Investment midpoint
- $471,878
- Revenue ÷ investment
- 0.78x
Orangetheory Fitness
- Disclosed average
- $857,377
- Investment midpoint
- $1,099,391
- Revenue ÷ investment
- 0.78x
YogaSix
- Disclosed average
- $488,615
- Investment midpoint
- $677,749
- Revenue ÷ investment
- 0.72x
Perspire Sauna Studio
- Disclosed average
- $506,200
- Investment midpoint
- $777,588
- Revenue ÷ investment
- 0.65x
Anytime Fitness
- Disclosed average
- $446,814
- Investment midpoint
- $722,406
- Revenue ÷ investment
- 0.62x
SWTHZ
- Disclosed average
- $573,762
- Investment midpoint
- $972,950
- Revenue ÷ investment
- 0.59x
CycleBar
- Disclosed average
- $424,125
- Investment midpoint
- $760,501
- Revenue ÷ investment
- 0.56x
Planet Fitness
- Disclosed average
- $1,873,895
- Investment midpoint
- $3,373,250
- Revenue ÷ investment
- 0.56x
BFT
- Disclosed average
- $360,918
- Investment midpoint
- $856,941
- Revenue ÷ investment
- 0.42x
Every row uses the disclosed average, not the median, so the ratios are comparable across brands — the sortable table calculates them the same way. Medians are lower almost everywhere here, so each of these ratios would fall if computed on the median instead.
Seven brands generate more annual revenue than their midpoint build cost, and Hand & Stone leads at 1.92x. That doesn't make it the most profitable — this ratio says nothing about margin, and a reformer studio's labor model (certified instructors on every class) carries a different cost structure than a largely self-serve sauna suite. But it does mean capital converts to revenue faster at equivalent margins, which is the single biggest driver of payback period.
Note also what the ratio conceals. Massage Envy's 1.26x is calculated on its average; run it on its bottom quartile ($610,237) and the same brand returns 0.68x. Every ratio in this table would fall similarly if computed against bottom-quartile revenue, which is the number a conservative lender will care about.
Run your own version of this with real margin assumptions in the ROI and payback calculator.
The quartile spread is the real story
Averages hide the thing you most need to know: how wide is the gap between a good location and a bad one? 12 brands publish quartile data. (Elements Massage, Planet Fitness and Amazing Lash Studio disclose thirds rather than quartiles, so their spreads are not directly comparable and are left out; Anytime Fitness and Burn Boot Camp publish no distribution at all.)
| Brand | Top quartile | Bottom quartile | Spread |
|---|---|---|---|
| CycleBar | $709,117 | $192,302 | 3.7x |
| YogaSix | $788,337 | $231,707 | 3.4x |
| Pure Barre | $588,040 | $192,833 | 3.0x |
| The Joint Chiropractic | $913,466 | $303,525 | 3.0x |
| Massage Envy | $1,815,058 | $610,237 | 3.0x |
| StretchLab | $842,342 | $312,680 | 2.7x |
| Stretch Zone | $507,663 | $192,138 | 2.6x |
| BFT | $558,591 | $212,714 | 2.6x |
| Orangetheory Fitness | $1,286,123 | $512,572 | 2.5x |
| Restore Hyper Wellness | $1,360,000 | $554,427 | 2.5x |
| Perspire Sauna Studio | $733,618 | $351,893 | 2.1x |
| Club Pilates | $1,305,116 | $686,457 | 1.9x |
CycleBar
- Top quartile
- $709,117
- Bottom quartile
- $192,302
- Spread
- 3.7x
YogaSix
- Top quartile
- $788,337
- Bottom quartile
- $231,707
- Spread
- 3.4x
Pure Barre
- Top quartile
- $588,040
- Bottom quartile
- $192,833
- Spread
- 3.0x
The Joint Chiropractic
- Top quartile
- $913,466
- Bottom quartile
- $303,525
- Spread
- 3.0x
Massage Envy
- Top quartile
- $1,815,058
- Bottom quartile
- $610,237
- Spread
- 3.0x
StretchLab
- Top quartile
- $842,342
- Bottom quartile
- $312,680
- Spread
- 2.7x
Stretch Zone
- Top quartile
- $507,663
- Bottom quartile
- $192,138
- Spread
- 2.6x
BFT
- Top quartile
- $558,591
- Bottom quartile
- $212,714
- Spread
- 2.6x
Orangetheory Fitness
- Top quartile
- $1,286,123
- Bottom quartile
- $512,572
- Spread
- 2.5x
Restore Hyper Wellness
- Top quartile
- $1,360,000
- Bottom quartile
- $554,427
- Spread
- 2.5x
Perspire Sauna Studio
- Top quartile
- $733,618
- Bottom quartile
- $351,893
- Spread
- 2.1x
Club Pilates
- Top quartile
- $1,305,116
- Bottom quartile
- $686,457
- Spread
- 1.9x
A bottom-quartile StretchLab does $312,680 against an investment that could reach $610,224. A top-quartile one does $842,342. Same brand, same system, same training — a 2.7x difference in outcome.
The spread itself is worth comparing across brands. Club Pilates is the tightest at 1.9x, meaning outcomes cluster more closely and a mediocre site hurts less. YogaSix is the widest at 3.4x — its bottom quartile averages just $231,707 against a build that starts at $529,233 — meaning site selection and operating skill carry more weight there than anywhere else in this table.
This is the most important table on this page, and it's the one most "best franchise" rankings omit entirely. Your location, your operating skill, and your local market determine which quartile you land in far more than your choice among these 32 brands does. When a franchisor quotes you the average, ask what the bottom quartile looks like — and underwrite your loan against that number, not the average.
How the concepts actually differ
The cost spread reflects genuinely different businesses, not just different price points.
StretchLab is an appointment-based service concept. The capital is in build-out and a modest equipment package; the operating cost is in labor, since every session requires a trained flexologist. It carries the highest royalty in the table (8%, tied with Club Pilates and Orangetheory) plus a 2% brand fund and a separate local marketing requirement of the greater of $1,500 or 2% of prior-month sales — an effective total fee load that can exceed 12%.
Restore Hyper Wellness is the most capital-intensive and the broadest in service mix — cryotherapy, IV drip therapy, red light, compression, and more under one roof. IV services bring clinical oversight requirements that vary by state, which is real compliance overhead rather than a formality. Its $3,500 minimum monthly royalty from year two means a slow-ramping location pays a floor regardless of sales.
Perspire Sauna Studio and SWTHZ are both infrared-sauna-led contrast therapy concepts with largely self-serve session models — lower labor intensity than StretchLab, but meaningful build-out cost for the sauna suites themselves. SWTHZ's 6–8% sliding royalty by studio age is unusual and franchisee-friendly in the early ramp.
Club Pilates is reformer Pilates on a class schedule, and the closest thing here to a proven formula — 849 studios in the Item 19 sample and the tightest quartile spread of the group. It shares StretchLab's fee structure exactly, including the 12%-plus effective load. Its binding constraint is certified instructors: every class on the timetable needs one, and instructor scarcity caps revenue before demand does.
Massage Envy is the most established and most capital-intensive system here, built around multi-room treatment suites and recurring memberships. Its 6% royalty is the lowest headline rate in the table, though two separate 2% marketing funds bring the real load to about 10%. It also has the widest performance spread of any brand compared, which makes site selection unusually consequential.
Hand & Stone and Massage Envy are the two massage-and-facial systems, and between them the highest-revenue concepts here. Hand & Stone is the only brand in the table to disclose operating expense ratios, which is why it is the one entry you can underwrite on margin rather than revenue alone.
The Joint Chiropractic is the cheapest to open and runs a cash-pay membership model with no insurance billing. Its constraint is regulatory: chiropractic ownership and scope-of-practice rules vary materially by state.
Pure Barre and European Wax Center sit at the lighter-equipment end. Pure Barre is the weakest of the lighter-equipment concepts on capital efficiency at 0.78x; European Wax Center, alongside Drybar, has the least verifiable financial performance disclosure in the set.
iCRYO sits in the middle on cost with the lowest percentage-based fee load in the table (6% royalty plus 1% marketing) — though Anytime Fitness's flat monthly fees work out lower still at average revenue. The caveat is data age: the most recent FDD available for review here is from 2023, and the absence of a comparable Item 19 makes it among the hardest to underwrite from public information.
Going deeper on any pair
Every brand above has a full review, and the pairs buyers most often weigh against each other have a dedicated head-to-head built on these same figures:
- StretchLab vs Stretch Zone — the two assisted-stretching systems, at 1.27x and 1.43x revenue-to-investment.
- Club Pilates vs Orangetheory — the two largest boutique fitness systems, and a wide gap in capital efficiency.
- Orangetheory vs Anytime Fitness — percentage royalties against flat monthly fees, a roughly $103,000 annual difference at each brand's average revenue.
- Massage Envy vs Hand & Stone — the two highest average unit volumes in wellness franchising.
The full set is at brand comparisons. For a structured way to compare brands beyond these, see our framework for comparing wellness franchise brands and the due diligence checklist.
What these numbers don't tell you
Item 7 and Item 19 are the most useful disclosures in an FDD, but they have real limits:
- Item 19 is historical, not predictive. It reports what existing units earned. It is not a projection, and franchisors are explicit about that.
- Gross sales are not profit. None of these figures are net income. Subtract royalties, brand fund, rent, labor, equipment financing, and debt service before drawing any conclusion about owner earnings.
- Item 7 excludes your working capital reality. The ranges include a stated working capital allowance, but a slow ramp burns more than the low end of any published range.
- Ranges are national. Real estate and build-out costs in a major metro will push you toward the top of every range shown here.
- FDD figures go stale. Every brand files annually. Confirm current numbers in the brand's latest FDD before acting on anything on this page.
The right next step is never a comparison table — it's Item 19 in the actual FDD, validation calls with existing franchisees in both the top and bottom quartiles, and your own ROI model built on local rent and wage data.
Sources
Figures are drawn from each brand's Franchise Disclosure Document as reported by the following, and from Restore Hyper Wellness's franchise site:
- Franchise Chatter — Restore Hyper Wellness 2025 review
- Franchise Chatter — StretchLab 2026 review
- Franchise Chatter — Perspire Sauna Studio 2026 review
- 1851 Franchise — SWTHZ franchise costs and data for 2026
- Vetted Biz — iCRYO franchise FDD, costs and fees
- Restore Hyper Wellness franchise FAQ
- Franchise Chatter — Stretch Zone 2025 review
- Franchise Chatter — Anytime Fitness 2026 review
- Franchise Chatter — Elements Massage 2026 review
- 1851 Franchise — Orangetheory Fitness deep dive
Frequently asked questions
- Which wellness franchise has the lowest startup cost?
- Of the thirty-three brands compared here, Stretch Zone has the lowest disclosed Item 7 range at $138,745 to $320,099 (2025 FDD), well below The Joint Chiropractic at $245,250 to $543,000. Smaller footprints and lighter equipment loads are the main reason — an assisted-stretching studio needs tables and floor space, not the cryotherapy chambers, saunas, or IV suites that drive cost in recovery-led concepts.
- How much does a Restore Hyper Wellness franchise cost?
- Restore Hyper Wellness discloses a total initial investment of $777,174 to $1,323,425 in its 2025 FDD, including a $44,500 initial franchise fee. Ongoing fees are a 7% royalty plus a 2% marketing contribution, with a $3,500 minimum monthly royalty beginning in the second year.
- What royalty do wellness franchises typically charge?
- Across these thirty-three brands, percentage royalties run 5% to 8% of gross sales, plus brand fund contributions of 1% to 4%. Several also require separate local marketing spend, which can push the effective total above 14%. Anytime Fitness and HOTWORX are the exceptions to the whole pattern: both charge flat monthly fees (Anytime Fitness $842 royalty plus $900 brand fund; HOTWORX $695 royalty) rather than a percentage, so their effective rate falls as revenue rises. Always add the brand fund and local requirement to the headline royalty when modeling — Massage Envy has the lowest headline royalty at 6% but two separate 2% marketing funds on top of it.
- Do these brands disclose how much their locations actually earn?
- Twenty-four of the thirty-three give a usable figure — the exceptions are European Wax Center, iCRYO, Drybar, HOTWORX, SWEAT440, Rumble, Row House, The Covery and Pause Studio — and twelve of those publish quartile detail. Burn Boot Camp goes furthest, disclosing net operating income alongside revenue. iCRYO's most recent FDD reviewed here (2023) did not include comparable figures, and we could not verify the basis behind the revenue figure commonly cited for European Wax Center. HOTWORX discloses gross profit rather than gross sales, and the figures circulating for SWEAT440 carry no verified sample. Remember that Item 19 reports what existing units earned historically — it is not a projection for your location.
- Which wellness franchise makes the most money?
- On disclosed average gross sales, Crunch Fitness is highest at $2,765,220 across 303 clubs, followed by Woodhouse Spa at $2,506,231 — both big-build concepts where revenue scales with square footage. On revenue relative to the capital required, Hand & Stone leads at roughly 1.92x its midpoint investment, ahead of Club Pilates at 1.61x. None of these figures is profit — Item 19 discloses gross sales, and fee loads, labor models, and rent differ substantially between these brands.
Related guides
Hand & Stone Franchise Cost & Review
What a Hand & Stone franchise costs: $578,507–$871,602 FDD Item 7 investment, 5–6% royalty, and Item 19 averaging $1,390,276 across 502 spas — including the operating expense ratios most brands never disclose.
5 min read
Massage Envy Franchise Cost & Review
What a Massage Envy franchise costs: $719,350–$1,081,000 FDD Item 7 investment, $45,000 franchise fee, 6% royalty plus 4% combined marketing, and quartile Item 19 revenue — reviewed independently.
6 min read
Club Pilates Franchise Cost & Review
What a Club Pilates franchise costs: $385,048–$839,058 FDD Item 7 investment, $65,000 franchise fee, 8% royalty, and quartile-level Item 19 revenue across 849 studios — reviewed independently.
7 min read
The Joint Chiropractic Franchise Cost & Review
What a The Joint Chiropractic franchise costs: $245,250–$543,000 FDD Item 7 investment, $39,900 franchise fee, 7% royalty, and Item 19 averaging $569,571 across 785 clinics.
7 min read
Best Wellness Franchises: How to Compare Brands
A franchisee framework for comparing wellness franchise brands: category fit, FDD signals, unit economics, validation, and a decision process.
8 min read
How to Evaluate a Franchise: Due Diligence Checklist
A franchisee due diligence framework for wellness buyers: FDD analysis, franchisee interviews, financial modeling, and red flags before you sign.
7 min read
Get buyer-side franchise insights in your inbox
Evaluating brands, financing, and unit economics — practical guidance for people buying a wellness franchise. No hype, just useful stuff.
Prefer downloads? Browse free resources.