Franchise brand comparison
Woodhouse Spa vs Hand & Stone
Compared on figures each brand discloses in its own Franchise Disclosure Document — 2025 for Woodhouse Spa, 2025 for Hand & Stone. Investment, fees, and Item 19 gross sales, with the sample size behind every average.
Short answer
The luxury spa against the best file in massage. Hand & Stone discloses $1,390,276 average across 502 franchised spas on a $725,055 midpoint — 1.92x capital efficiency, the strongest ratio we have measured — powered by a membership model that smooths demand across the calendar. Woodhouse discloses $2,506,231 across 76 locations on a $2,090,159 midpoint: nearly twice the revenue per unit, three times the capital, 1.20x efficiency, and an 84% Q4-over-Q1 seasonal swing that membership concepts don't face. Fee loads are comparable once Hand & Stone's 4% local requirement is counted. Both clear the 1.0x bar that most of our comparison fails — the choice is model, not math: Hand & Stone for predictable membership economics at accessible capital, Woodhouse for premium tickets, gifting revenue, and a luxury brand tier with no franchised rival at scale. Labor supply — therapists and estheticians near half of revenue — is the binding constraint on either.
Side by side
| Measure | Woodhouse Spa | Hand & Stone |
|---|---|---|
| Concept category | Massage & skincare | Massage & skincare |
| FDD year | 2025 | 2025 |
| Total investment (Item 7) | $1,482,439–$2,697,879midpoint $2,090,159 | $578,507–$871,602midpoint $725,055 |
| Initial franchise fee | $60,000 | $32,500–$49,500 |
| Royalty | 6% | 5% yr 1, then 6% |
| Brand fund | up to 2% (currently 1.75%) | 1% |
| Local advertising | 1.75% | 4% (min $400/wk) |
| Average gross sales (Item 19) | $2,506,23176 units — locations open the full 2024 calendar year; disclosed range $675,466–$5,666,512 | $1,390,276502 units — franchised spas open 12+ months, CY2024 |
| Median gross sales | $2,457,840 | $1,311,889 |
| Top quartile | Not disclosed | Not disclosed |
| Bottom quartile | Not disclosed | Not disclosed |
| Revenue ÷ investment | 1.20x | 1.92x |
| Quartile spread | — | — |
Bolded figures mark the stronger side of a row where both brands disclose a comparable number — lower investment, higher revenue, higher return on capital, narrower quartile spread. A brand that discloses nothing is never marked as losing a row: an undisclosed figure is an unknown, not a poor result.
What the numbers mean
Investment is Item 7, the franchisor's own estimate of everything needed to open. Woodhouse Spa discloses a total initial investment of $1,482,439 to $2,697,879 in its 2025 FDD, a midpoint of $2,090,159, with an initial franchise fee of $60,000. Hand & Stone discloses a total initial investment of $578,507 to $871,602 in its 2025 FDD, a midpoint of $725,055, with an initial franchise fee of $32,500–$49,500.
Revenue is Item 19, and the unit count matters as much as the figure. Woodhouse Spa reports average gross sales of $2,506,231 and a median of $2,457,840 across 76 units (locations open the full 2024 calendar year; disclosed range $675,466–$5,666,512). Hand & Stone reports average gross sales of $1,390,276 and a median of $1,311,889 across 502 units (franchised spas open 12+ months, CY2024).
Return on capital divides disclosed average sales by the midpoint investment. Woodhouse Spa returns 1.20x and Hand & Stone returns 1.92x. This measures capital efficiency, not profit — it says how much annual revenue each dollar of build-out buys, and says nothing about the margin either concept actually runs.
Full review
Woodhouse Spa
Cost, fees, and Item 19 revenue, reviewed against the 2025 FDD.
Full review
Hand & Stone
Cost, fees, and Item 19 revenue, reviewed against the 2025 FDD.
Frequently asked
- Woodhouse Spa vs Hand & Stone: which is the better franchise?
- The luxury spa against the best file in massage. Hand & Stone discloses $1,390,276 average across 502 franchised spas on a $725,055 midpoint — 1.92x capital efficiency, the strongest ratio we have measured — powered by a membership model that smooths demand across the calendar. Woodhouse discloses $2,506,231 across 76 locations on a $2,090,159 midpoint: nearly twice the revenue per unit, three times the capital, 1.20x efficiency, and an 84% Q4-over-Q1 seasonal swing that membership concepts don't face. Fee loads are comparable once Hand & Stone's 4% local requirement is counted. Both clear the 1.0x bar that most of our comparison fails — the choice is model, not math: Hand & Stone for predictable membership economics at accessible capital, Woodhouse for premium tickets, gifting revenue, and a luxury brand tier with no franchised rival at scale. Labor supply — therapists and estheticians near half of revenue — is the binding constraint on either.
- How much does a Woodhouse Spa franchise cost compared to Hand & Stone?
- Woodhouse Spa discloses a total initial investment of $1,482,439 to $2,697,879 in its 2025 FDD, a midpoint of $2,090,159, with an initial franchise fee of $60,000. Hand & Stone discloses a total initial investment of $578,507 to $871,602 in its 2025 FDD, a midpoint of $725,055, with an initial franchise fee of $32,500–$49,500.
- Does Woodhouse Spa or Hand & Stone generate more revenue?
- Woodhouse Spa reports average gross sales of $2,506,231 and a median of $2,457,840 across 76 units (locations open the full 2024 calendar year; disclosed range $675,466–$5,666,512). Hand & Stone reports average gross sales of $1,390,276 and a median of $1,311,889 across 502 units (franchised spas open 12+ months, CY2024). These are gross sales, not profit, and the number of units behind each average decides how much it tells you.
- What are the ongoing fees for Woodhouse Spa and Hand & Stone?
- Woodhouse Spa charges a royalty of 6% and a brand fund contribution of up to 2% (currently 1.75%), plus a local advertising obligation of 1.75%. Hand & Stone charges a royalty of 5% yr 1, then 6% and a brand fund contribution of 1%, plus a local advertising obligation of 4% (min $400/wk).
Other comparisons
Before you rely on any of this
FDDs are filed annually and figures move. Request the current document from each franchisor and read Items 5, 6, 7 and 19 yourself — this is a summary to orient you, not a substitute for the disclosure or for your own advisors. We are not affiliated with, endorsed by, or compensated by either brand; see our disclosure policy.
Compare every brand at once in the sortable cost comparison table, or run these figures against your own assumptions in the ROI & payback calculator.