Franchise brand comparison
Pause Studio vs SWTHZ
Compared on figures each brand discloses in its own Franchise Disclosure Document — 2025 for Pause Studio, 2026 for SWTHZ. Investment, fees, and Item 19 gross sales, with the sample size behind every average.
Short answer
The two most premium wet builds in our data, and neither offers a franchised evidence base worth the name. SWTHZ discloses $573,762 average across 13 franchised locations; Pause discloses only its five company-owned Los Angeles flagships at $1.29M–$1.79M — impressive numbers that describe founder-run stores in America's best recovery market, not a franchise system. Pause's build is heavier ($1,207,750 midpoint against $972,950) but its ongoing stack is lighter: 7% plus a category-low 1% brand fund and an $800 monthly tech fee, against SWTHZ's stepped 6–8% plus 3% plus a $2,000 monthly local floor — roughly 8.9% against 15% at comparable revenue. If a Pause franchise unit lands anywhere near its LA range, it wins this comparison outright; if it performs like the category, the heavier build hurts more. SWTHZ is the marginally more proven bet; Pause is the higher-ceiling, zero-track-record one. Both demand validation calls over spreadsheets.
Side by side
| Measure | Pause Studio | SWTHZ |
|---|---|---|
| Concept category | Recovery & wellness | Recovery & wellness |
| FDD year | 2025 | 2026 |
| Total investment (Item 7) | $880,600–$1,534,900midpoint $1,207,750 | $631,798–$1,314,102midpoint $972,950 |
| Initial franchise fee | $60,000 | $45,000 |
| Royalty | 7% | 6–8% by studio age |
| Brand fund | 1% | 3% |
| Local advertising | None disclosed separately | None disclosed separately |
| Average gross sales (Item 19) | Not disclosedItem 19 covers five company-owned LA studios only — see review | $573,76213 units — franchised locations open all of FY2024 |
| Median gross sales | Not disclosed | $556,226 |
| Top quartile | Not disclosed | Not disclosed |
| Bottom quartile | Not disclosed | Not disclosed |
| Revenue ÷ investment | — | 0.59x |
| Quartile spread | — | — |
Bolded figures mark the stronger side of a row where both brands disclose a comparable number — lower investment, higher revenue, higher return on capital, narrower quartile spread. A brand that discloses nothing is never marked as losing a row: an undisclosed figure is an unknown, not a poor result.
What the numbers mean
Investment is Item 7, the franchisor's own estimate of everything needed to open. Pause Studio discloses a total initial investment of $880,600 to $1,534,900 in its 2025 FDD, a midpoint of $1,207,750, with an initial franchise fee of $60,000. SWTHZ discloses a total initial investment of $631,798 to $1,314,102 in its 2026 FDD, a midpoint of $972,950, with an initial franchise fee of $45,000.
Revenue is Item 19, and the unit count matters as much as the figure. Pause Studio discloses no Item 19 figure we can use (Item 19 covers five company-owned LA studios only — see review). SWTHZ reports average gross sales of $573,762 and a median of $556,226 across 13 units (franchised locations open all of FY2024).
Full review
Pause Studio
Cost, fees, and Item 19 revenue, reviewed against the 2025 FDD.
Full review
SWTHZ
Cost, fees, and Item 19 revenue, reviewed against the 2026 FDD.
Frequently asked
- Pause Studio vs SWTHZ: which is the better franchise?
- The two most premium wet builds in our data, and neither offers a franchised evidence base worth the name. SWTHZ discloses $573,762 average across 13 franchised locations; Pause discloses only its five company-owned Los Angeles flagships at $1.29M–$1.79M — impressive numbers that describe founder-run stores in America's best recovery market, not a franchise system. Pause's build is heavier ($1,207,750 midpoint against $972,950) but its ongoing stack is lighter: 7% plus a category-low 1% brand fund and an $800 monthly tech fee, against SWTHZ's stepped 6–8% plus 3% plus a $2,000 monthly local floor — roughly 8.9% against 15% at comparable revenue. If a Pause franchise unit lands anywhere near its LA range, it wins this comparison outright; if it performs like the category, the heavier build hurts more. SWTHZ is the marginally more proven bet; Pause is the higher-ceiling, zero-track-record one. Both demand validation calls over spreadsheets.
- How much does a Pause Studio franchise cost compared to SWTHZ?
- Pause Studio discloses a total initial investment of $880,600 to $1,534,900 in its 2025 FDD, a midpoint of $1,207,750, with an initial franchise fee of $60,000. SWTHZ discloses a total initial investment of $631,798 to $1,314,102 in its 2026 FDD, a midpoint of $972,950, with an initial franchise fee of $45,000.
- Does Pause Studio or SWTHZ generate more revenue?
- Pause Studio discloses no Item 19 figure we can use (Item 19 covers five company-owned LA studios only — see review). SWTHZ reports average gross sales of $573,762 and a median of $556,226 across 13 units (franchised locations open all of FY2024). These are gross sales, not profit, and the number of units behind each average decides how much it tells you.
- What are the ongoing fees for Pause Studio and SWTHZ?
- Pause Studio charges a royalty of 7% and a brand fund contribution of 1%. SWTHZ charges a royalty of 6–8% by studio age and a brand fund contribution of 3%.
Other comparisons
Before you rely on any of this
FDDs are filed annually and figures move. Request the current document from each franchisor and read Items 5, 6, 7 and 19 yourself — this is a summary to orient you, not a substitute for the disclosure or for your own advisors. We are not affiliated with, endorsed by, or compensated by either brand; see our disclosure policy.
Compare every brand at once in the sortable cost comparison table, or run these figures against your own assumptions in the ROI & payback calculator.