Skip to main content

Franchise brand comparison

HOTWORX vs Perspire Sauna Studio

Compared on figures each brand discloses in its own Franchise Disclosure Document — 2026 for HOTWORX, 2025 for Perspire Sauna Studio. Investment, fees, and Item 19 gross sales, with the sample size behind every average.

Short answer

Both are built around infrared heat, but they sell different things: Perspire sells the sauna session itself, HOTWORX sells a workout that happens to occur in one. The midpoints are close — $686,100 for HOTWORX against $777,588 for Perspire — and the contracts are not. HOTWORX charges a flat $695 a month with a $19,950 franchise fee and no percentage brand fund; Perspire takes 7% with a $600 monthly floor plus 2%, which at its disclosed average is roughly $45,600 a year against HOTWORX's fixed load of about $30,000 including its technology fee — and the gap grows with every dollar of revenue. Disclosure runs the other way. Perspire reports $506,200 average gross sales across 44 studios; HOTWORX's Item 19 reports gross profit rather than gross sales, which cannot be compared like-for-like, so only Perspire can be underwritten from its document. The flat-fee contract is the reason to pick HOTWORX; the verifiable revenue base is the reason to pick Perspire.

Side by side

HOTWORX and Perspire Sauna Studio compared on disclosed Franchise Disclosure Document figures: total investment, fees, and Item 19 gross sales.
MeasureHOTWORXPerspire Sauna Studio
Concept categoryFitness & movementRecovery & wellness
FDD year20262025
Total investment (Item 7)$288,890–$1,083,310midpoint $686,100$565,538–$989,638midpoint $777,588
Initial franchise fee$19,950$50,000
Royalty$695/mo flat7% (min $600/mo)
Brand fundno % fund — flat monthly fees; see review2%
Local advertisingNone disclosed separatelyNone disclosed separately
Average gross sales (Item 19)Not disclosedItem 19 reports gross profit, not gross sales — see review$506,20044 units — franchised studios, FY2024
Median gross salesNot disclosed$490,518
Top quartileNot disclosed$733,618
Bottom quartileNot disclosed$351,893
Revenue ÷ investment0.65x
Quartile spread2.1x

Bolded figures mark the stronger side of a row where both brands disclose a comparable number — lower investment, higher revenue, higher return on capital, narrower quartile spread. A brand that discloses nothing is never marked as losing a row: an undisclosed figure is an unknown, not a poor result.

What the numbers mean

Investment is Item 7, the franchisor's own estimate of everything needed to open. HOTWORX discloses a total initial investment of $288,890 to $1,083,310 in its 2026 FDD, a midpoint of $686,100, with an initial franchise fee of $19,950. Perspire Sauna Studio discloses a total initial investment of $565,538 to $989,638 in its 2025 FDD, a midpoint of $777,588, with an initial franchise fee of $50,000.

Revenue is Item 19, and the unit count matters as much as the figure. HOTWORX discloses no Item 19 figure we can use (Item 19 reports gross profit, not gross sales — see review). Perspire Sauna Studio reports average gross sales of $506,200 and a median of $490,518 across 44 units (franchised studios, FY2024).

Full review

HOTWORX

Cost, fees, and Item 19 revenue, reviewed against the 2026 FDD.

Full review

Perspire Sauna Studio

Cost, fees, and Item 19 revenue, reviewed against the 2025 FDD.

Frequently asked

HOTWORX vs Perspire Sauna Studio: which is the better franchise?
Both are built around infrared heat, but they sell different things: Perspire sells the sauna session itself, HOTWORX sells a workout that happens to occur in one. The midpoints are close — $686,100 for HOTWORX against $777,588 for Perspire — and the contracts are not. HOTWORX charges a flat $695 a month with a $19,950 franchise fee and no percentage brand fund; Perspire takes 7% with a $600 monthly floor plus 2%, which at its disclosed average is roughly $45,600 a year against HOTWORX's fixed load of about $30,000 including its technology fee — and the gap grows with every dollar of revenue. Disclosure runs the other way. Perspire reports $506,200 average gross sales across 44 studios; HOTWORX's Item 19 reports gross profit rather than gross sales, which cannot be compared like-for-like, so only Perspire can be underwritten from its document. The flat-fee contract is the reason to pick HOTWORX; the verifiable revenue base is the reason to pick Perspire.
How much does a HOTWORX franchise cost compared to Perspire Sauna Studio?
HOTWORX discloses a total initial investment of $288,890 to $1,083,310 in its 2026 FDD, a midpoint of $686,100, with an initial franchise fee of $19,950. Perspire Sauna Studio discloses a total initial investment of $565,538 to $989,638 in its 2025 FDD, a midpoint of $777,588, with an initial franchise fee of $50,000.
Does HOTWORX or Perspire Sauna Studio generate more revenue?
HOTWORX discloses no Item 19 figure we can use (Item 19 reports gross profit, not gross sales — see review). Perspire Sauna Studio reports average gross sales of $506,200 and a median of $490,518 across 44 units (franchised studios, FY2024). These are gross sales, not profit, and the number of units behind each average decides how much it tells you.
What are the ongoing fees for HOTWORX and Perspire Sauna Studio?
HOTWORX charges a royalty of $695/mo flat and a brand fund contribution of no % fund — flat monthly fees; see review. Perspire Sauna Studio charges a royalty of 7% (min $600/mo) and a brand fund contribution of 2%.

Other comparisons

Before you rely on any of this

FDDs are filed annually and figures move. Request the current document from each franchisor and read Items 5, 6, 7 and 19 yourself — this is a summary to orient you, not a substitute for the disclosure or for your own advisors. We are not affiliated with, endorsed by, or compensated by either brand; see our disclosure policy.

Compare every brand at once in the sortable cost comparison table, or run these figures against your own assumptions in the ROI & payback calculator.